The Black City Mega-dungeon

Over at the Dreams in the Lich House blog, there’s a series of posts on another mega-dungeon project that implemented the kind of “nodal” dungeon model that I was talking about in my last post, called the Black City.  The Black City uses the concept on a smaller scale than I’m thinking of, but the theory is the same.  And from the play reports I’ve read, it seems to have worked quite well for their game.

Here’s a look at the map for the first level of the dungeon:

transit schematic

I still fancy the hub-and-spoke layout of the Moscow Metro, so that would most likely serve as my inspiration, though on a significantly reduced scale.  Each ‘node’ on the map would be fairly small, good for 2 to 3 play sessions worth of exploration.

If you like reading play reports, I recommend checking out the Black City.  The reports are well written and interesting (unlike my own), and the setting is just completely kick-ass: Vikings exploring a ruined alien city on a frozen island near the artic circle.  Lots of cool science-fantasy goodness, though not so gonzo like Anomalous Subsurface Environment (not that I have a problem with gonzo, mind you 😉 ).

Cheers.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

