Three Years

This month marks the three year anniversary of this blog, which comes as a bit of a surprise to me.  I don’t post as frequently as I used to; none-the-less, I still manage to do a few posts a month and will continue to do so.  Also, the number of gaming related posts has dropped somewhat of late, which is something I hope to address in the coming year(s).

With gaming in mind, I thought I’d toot my own horn a bit and post my top five game related downloads from the past three years:

  1. To regular readers it should come as no surprise that the Pathfinder Beginner Box Consolidated Class Conversions comes in first, with 3,936 downloads (yikes!).
  2. A distant second is the Pathfinder Beginner Box Race Addendum, with 1,796 downloads.
  3. Followed by the Pathfinder Beginner Box Consolidated Bestiary, with 1,622 downloads (with many thanks to David Jenks for his contributions).
  4. Fourth up, the Ultimate Grand Unified Junk Table (Analog Edition), with 1,291 downloads.
  5. And finally Pathfinder Beginner Box Consolidated Feats, with 1,218 downloads.

A couple more honorable mentions, the PFBB Class Template (1,148 downloads) and PFBB Kingdoms (940 downloads). BeginnerBox3DSo, four of my top five (and 6 of the top 7) downloads are related to Pathfinder Beginner Box.  Of course, I’m not entirely certain how recent all that activity is, though I can tell you the Class Conversions downloads was just 3,400 about two months ago; so, 500+ downloads in just a couple of months isn’t too bad for a little blog like mine.  Maybe I should take all this as some kind of hint. 🙂

Well, thank you for taking time out of your busy day to read my little slice of the Web these past few years; here’s to another three years.  Cheers, and game on.

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “Three Years”

  1. ronaldsf Says:

    I just want to extend my thanks for the PFBB conversions, which I found very useful for my middle-school kids and I’m sure have been great for people who want to extend the value of the Beginner Box! I enjoy your play reports immensely as well.

  2. F. A. Real H. Says:

    I have to recognize that I started reading/following your Blog because of all the PFBB related material. At this point in my gaming life, I’m no longer interested in 20 levels of playing and the PFBB seemed like the perfect balance between options, complexity and classic D&D tropes… but 4 classes and 3 races were a bit limited, at least in my opinion.

    And then, I discovered your PFBB conversions.

    I was not only glad, but totally inspired by them; here it was the chance to run a complete E5 game that offered players a ton of options. As of today, I’m still hoping that you’ll return to it and write some Advance Class Guide conversions, for example, or even publish a “complete” PFBB/E5 with all the relevant rules. I mean, wouldn’t it be great to have all the classes, races and rules in “standard”, concise Pathfinder language (instead of the more “guided”, wordy version in the PFBB)?

    Anyway: I really just wanted to say “Thank you” for all your work and hopefully you can keep working on it.

    At least know there’s one happy gamer/reader out there if you do so.

    Best regards,

    Felipe.

    • edowar Says:

      I have thought about doing conversions for the Advanced Class Guide, for the sake of completeness if nothing else. I am concerned that Pathfinder is starting to hit a dangerous “bloat” point that afflicts all versions of D&D (and most RPGs in general); if Paizo starts pumping out class books like crazy, I probably won’t be able to keep up.

      It had not occurred to me to produce PFBB material using PF Core’s more concise language. In some ways it would be a relief to avoid the wordiness of the PFBB. However, part of the feel of the PFBB is that wordiness. I’ll have to think about it.

      Thank you for posting.

      • David Jenks Says:

        The “wordiness” is a feature, not a bug–it explains, in more verbose but often slightly simpler terms, what the game is trying to accomplish with certain rules.

        In my opinion, at least. 😀

  3. David Jenks Says:

    Oh, wow–I got props! There was no need to do that, Ed…YOUR work inspired me, and I remember my first few tries were mis-steps (you had to reel me in a few times, as I recall, as I’d become too wordy). Your monsters served as a template, so it was easy to follow in your footsteps.

    Ed, your tremendous wisdom and experience behind a DM screen is an asset to us all. Your ideas trail blazed, even–pardon the pun–found the path for adding races, classes and feats to the existing (yet very limited) BB material. Those of us who often use the BB have our deepest gratitude for your clear, concise, and well-organized additions!

    Hmm, maybe in honor of the 3 year anniversary, I’ll stat up the BB version of Cthulhu….

    😀

    • edowar Says:

      Thank you for your kind words David, but you give me too much credit I think. If I hadn’t done it, someone else probably would have. And I’m really just working off of established Pathfinder material available from the OGL. Still, thank you all the same. 🙂

      For the BB I think I’d have to stat up baby Cthulhu; a CR 40 monster is probably more than a BB character could handle. :p

      Cheers.

Leave a Reply

