Ran my first session of 5th Edition DnD

Saturday I had the opportunity to run a game of 5th Edition DnD.  Here’s what I took away from the session:

  • The game ran very intuitively.  The only time I had to stop and look something up was to reference specific spells or monster abilities.  Not once did I stop to make a rules check.
  • The game can be brutal, and yet not all that lethal.  It’s easy to knock PCs to 0 hit points (especially at lower levels), but the game makes it fairly easy to stabilize dying characters, so actual PC death is uncommon.  Three out of four PCs were reduced to 0 HP (some multiple times), but none died.
  • Character building is still more complicated than I’d like.  I only had two players, and each ran two PCS, so that probably slowed down character generation.
  • I did forget a few things, such as granting Advantage for a couple of surprise attacks by monsters.  We didn’t really use the grappling rules (which are easy and powerful), and I forgot all about the Dodge action.
  • I ran combat with “theater of the mind” instead of minis and a grid, and it worked just fine.  The thing is, if you prefer minis and grid, I think it’d work very well with that as well.
  • I suck at making dungeon crawls.  5th Edition was great (both of my players really liked the rule set), but my dungeon was a bit run-of-the-mill.  Lesson learned for next time. 🙂

Cheers.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

