New Player’s Handbook

phbIf you’ve read the free basic PDFs for 5th Edition and didn’t like it, well there’s nothing in the new PHB that will change your mind.  It basically just adds a few new races, several new classes, and feats.

I do like the way feats are handled.  5th Edition feats are more robust, more like plugging in optional class abilities as compared to the relatively fiddly, minor tweaks granted by 3E/4E/PF feats.  Of course, you get far fewer feats in 5E than you do in previous iterations.

But if you can live without the extra bells-and-whistles (or just don’t like 5E) there’s no reason you need to pick up the PHB.

Cheers.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “New Player’s Handbook”

  1. Andrew Collas Says:

    Actually the free rules and starter set left me cold, but the PhB made me give it a try and I am sold on it now! Just something about the presentation as a whole really showed how they had a vision that needed to be seen in total I guess. 🙂

    • edowar Says:

      I think it’s interesting that the PHB sold you on 5th Edition when the PDFs left you cold on the game.

      I keep going back and forth on it, though I’m generally warming up to the game. I think I just need to run a couple of sessions to get a good feel for it. Thanks for commenting.

  2. David Jenks Says:

    I’m hoping I’ll be in Andrew’s boat. I was able to buy the PHB for less than $10 (thanks, gift card!).

    I wasn’t overwhelmed with the Starter Set material that I saw and I haven’t had a chance to really *pour* over the Basic PDF, but I really hope the dead tree version, with all the classes and races and so on, will help me warm to it.

    I just keep reminding myself that anything I don’t like in D&D5 is *optional*–if I don’t like it, I don’t have to use it!

    • edowar Says:

      It certainly seems like 5E would be easier to house rule than 4E or Pathfinder.

      I’ll probably pick up the MM and DMG as well, when they’re released.

Leave a Reply

