Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

dawnoftheplanetoftheapesSaw this today and enjoyed it much more than the prequel, Rise of the Planet of the Apes.  It’s a tale of how fear, mistrust, hatred and, above all, stupidity lead to misunderstanding and inevitable conflict.

The story gets moving pretty quick, so you don’t feel like you’re waiting for a couple of hours for the movie to get to the interesting part (unlike Rise).  Decent story, decent acting, the story makes sense (for the most part) and a nice big battle towards the end.  They also set it up nicely for the sequel, which I’m guessing will be Battle for the Planet of the Apes (you’ll see what I mean if you go see it).

I was close to chucking this one into the Netflix queue but I’m glad I went to see it.  At the very least it’s worth the price of a matinee ticket.  Cheers.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes”

  1. David Jenks Says:

    Agreed.

    I’m an Apes fan, despite the face applications used in the 60’s-70’s being utterly cringe-worthy. We saw it Thursday after a LONG day of work and exercise, and despite my wife and I being exhausted we enjoyed it.

    Was it the best movie since The Avengers? No. (I think that title goes to Winter Soldier, IMO, with Days of Future Past a close second.) But it was VERY good and, as you say, better than the first (although I miss James Franco–I dunno, he’s got a warm, expressive face).

    And the visual of chimps, on horseback, with machine guns: it was surreal and hilarious and scary as hell all at the same time.

    Well worth a matinée (although I thought it was worth it at full price).

Leave a Reply

