Boot Hill RPG

I recently dug out my copy of the Boot Hill RPG (2nd Edition), which I picked up cheap at a con many years ago, before the advent of E-bay.  Going over the rules, its origins as a tactical skirmish game show quite clearly, to the point where a GM may be optional.  Re-reading it I’m surprised at the number of misconceptions I held about the rules and the game’s perceived (to me) complexity.  While the rules are a bit chart heavy, they are actually not all that complex.  And they pretty much cover everything you need to run a Western-themed RPG.

On a related note, there have been a number of efforts to recreate Star Wars using a variant of OD&D (or similar) rules over the past few years, but now I’m wondering if they haven’t been using the wrong set of rules.  Star Wars, afterall, is basically a Western in space, with a dash of samurais and Eastern philosophy.  Replace firearms with blasters, add a new stat for the Force and you’re off to the races.

At any rate, I’d like to give the rules a more thorough reading here, but as things are rather busy for me right now, it’ll have to wait a few days.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

