Free Art Resources?

Just wondering if anyone out there knows of any places where one can obtain royalty-free art, particularly with lots of fantasy and sci-fi resources.  I’ve done a Google search but what I’ve come up with was extremely limited.  I know there must be something out there because I’ve seen plenty of indie gaming products that have used them (or, at least, I assume it was royalty-free art, and not pirated).  Many thanks…and cheers!

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “Free Art Resources?”

  1. Brendan Says:

    Wikimedia sometimes has decent resources. You can use Google to limit by domain:

    http://www.google.com/images?q=site:wikimedia.org+dragon

    I also like this blog:

    http://darkclassics.blogspot.com/

    I think the author is pretty thorough about posting things that are out of copyright, but I probably still wouldn’t use those images for formal publication.

  2. Rick Crawford Says:

    I use a site called fiverr. It takes a couple of rounds to get what you want, but it only costs $5.

  3. JB Says:

    I solicit artwork from my blog readers or from artists I know personally. For the most part, they’ll give me free art in exchange for A) a copy of the finished product, and B) the understanding that they can continue to use the art for their own purposes (i.e. re-sell it) so long as I can continue to use it for my book/game.

    • edowar Says:

      Hmmm, that might work, though the project I have in mind won’t involve a finished book or anything like that. And I don’t have too many readers yet, either. =) But it’s worth keeping in mind. Many thanks.

  4. Jack Says:

    Also check out the public domain golden age comic books sites. There are loaded, really loaded with goodies

Leave a Reply

