15mm Miniatures

For some time now I’ve been fascinated by 15mm scale miniatures.  There’s a growing number of companies putting them out for both fantasy and sci-fi settings (and historical as well, if you’re interested).  There’s something about their compact nature that just screams ‘old school rpg’ to me.  It also seems, given the smaller scale, it’d be easier to lug around a sizeable collection than it would for traditional 28mm minis, and leave more room at the table.  Usually you can get more figures for your money (though granted, you’re probably getting less overall ‘metal’ compared to 28mm).  And then there’s my complete lack of talent and patience for painting mini’s, so I could probably get away with just slabbing on a couple different colors and call it a day.

Anyone out there ever use 15mm minis in their gaming?  Just wondering how they worked out for you compared to traditional 28mm figures, or other alternatives.  Cheers.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “15mm Miniatures”

  1. E. Wilson Says:

    I used 15mm minis for years for historical wargaming. They are great for tabletop wargame units because of their smaller size. They take up less room and look more “to scale” on the terrain. Painting isn’t too difficult if you use simpler techniques than for the larger 25/28mm scale. A few years ago I tried 15mm minis for RPG gaming but individually they are so tiny that it is very difficult to make out who’s who from more than about 2 feet away. I suppose if you used bold colors, or even just painted them in solid colors like playing pieces you could get around that.

    • edowar Says:

      I hadn’t considered that it might be difficult to distinguish between figures at that scale. My painting skills are virtually non-existent, so I was thinking of just slabbing on a few different colors, so that may help. Thanks for commenting.

      • E. Wilson Says:

        If you’d like, I can send you a few of my old 15mm fantasy minis to check out. I’m not using them anyway.

      • edowar Says:

        Thank you for the offer, but I’m not really gaming that much right now. My post was mostly speculation/curiousity/inquiry and a bit of filler, ’cause I needed something to post about anyways. 🙂

Leave a Reply

