DCC Funnel Character Creator

Most of these guys will be dead soon. 😦

Just wanted to point out something I thought was kind of neat.  It’s an online ‘funnel’ character creator for Goodman Games Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG, by Purple Sorcerer Games.  I like that it’s super quick and easy to use, and it puts four novice characters on one sheet of paper.  I’m not much interested in DCC itself, but I almost want to build my own RPG just around this character generator.

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to “DCC Funnel Character Creator”

  1. David Jenks Says:

    The RPG is actually quite cool. But YMMV.

  2. edowar Says:

    Have you had a chance to play it yet? If so, how’d it go? I read the playtest version of the rules and saw some things I really liked, and some things that left me cold. In particular, the rules being so chart heavy.

    I know old school D&D had a lot of charts too, but every spell having it’s own chart, along with the critical hit chart and the fumble chart, among others, just seems like you’d end up spending a lot of time referencing charts instead of playing.

    I’m also not enthused by the Zochi dice, though primarily because the dice are hard to find and bloody expensive. $18 for 6 or 7 dice? I don’t think a lot of players are going to want to spring for that.

    However, I must confess that I haven’t had a chance to actually play it yet, so my impressions could be completely off. I’d be willing to give it a try, given an opportunity.

  3. David Jenks Says:

    Ed, I’m sad to admit I don’t even have a gaming group that I’m involved with currently. (It makes me very sad to admit that.)

    Thus, no I haven’t done an ‘actual play’ yet. I can tell you that there have been some fairly significant changes since the beta, but certainly not in the chart-heavy department. 😉

    Regarding the dice, there have been numerous posts on the Goodman Games message boards about how to use standard RPG dice to give the same results as the Zochi dice.

    There are also several apps for both Apple- and Android-based devices that can be used to generate those same “weird dice” results.

    • edowar Says:

      Ah, that’s good to know about the dicing apps. I know someone is working on a DCC rules app, too, which would probably help with all the charts. Maybe once that app is released I’ll look into picking up DCC, or if I can find the DCC rules for sale somewhere ($25 is more than I want to spend for a PDF right now). Many thanks.

      • David Jenks Says:

        Honestly, despite the “chartiness” of the game, I think you’d like it. It’s very Vancian (as in “similar to stories written by Vance”–not to be confused with your very next blog post). 😀

      • edowar Says:

        Oh, I think you’re right about the Vancian feel of the spells. The game says they’re going for a more puply sword & Socrcery feel, and from what I’ve read of the spells and magic system I think they got it pretty good. I like that casting spells has serious risks.

  4. David Jenks Says:

    Finally, regarding the funky dice: here’s an app–that currently works on PCs–that has a dice roller & zero level PC generator (among other things) specifically for the DCC RPG.

    It’s pretty fantastic, but having it on your smart phone while at the gaming table will be even MORE cool….thus the Kickstarter. 🙂

    Damn, I wish I had a gaming group….

  5. David Jenks Says:

    (helps if I include the link) d’oh!

    • edowar Says:

      Thanks for the link. Once that app comes out I think it’ll address most of my concerns about playing DCC. Who knows, maybe I can even get my current group to give old school gaming a try.

Leave a Reply

