Prometheus

Had the chance to see Prometheus earlier today (in 3D, no less).  As a stand alone sci-fi movie, it’s decent but not great.  As a pseudo-prequeal to the Alien movies, it was a disappointment.  You can see where they use a lot of imagery and ideas from Alien and Aliens (not so much from 3 & 4), but it’s clearly not a direct prequal to Alien.

Frankly, there was some bad writing.  There were characters that not only did stupid things that made no sense (more so than your typical horror-type movie), but also acted in ways there were clearly contradictory to what they’d done just a little earlier in the movie.  And parts of the story didn’t make sense or could have done with a bit more explanation, or some follow-through.

Regarding seeing it in 3D, normally I avoid 3D at all costs, but the group I went with wanted to see it in 3D so I took one for the team.  As far as I’m concerned, 3D did nothing for this film…but then I think 3D does nothing for any film, so there you go.  It was a gimmick in the ’50’s, and I think it’s still a gimmick today (albeit, a profitable gimmick for movie studios).

The special effects and visuals were, of course, excellent.  So, if you want a ‘good looking’ sci-fi movie, or you’re a big fan of the Alien franchises (and it is better than Alien 3 and 4, I must say), then it’s worth the price of a matinee ticket.  If not, wait a few months for it to show up on Netflix or Redbox.

Cheers.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Prometheus”

  1. David Jenks Says:

    Oddly, I have to disagree with you. (We normally seem to see eye-to-eye about many things.)

    As a HUGE fan of the first Alien film, I thought Prometheus explained a lot. I thought it was very effective as a “prequel” of sorts.

    Since talking about just about any aspect of the plot will be a spoiler, I won’t say much more, but…I thought it was VERY good.

    • edowar Says:

      Fair enough. And you’re right, it does explain some things about the first movie. I suppose the source of my disappointment, in part at least, is that I was expecting more of a direct prequal to Alien.

  2. David Jenks Says:

    I, on the other hand, knew Scott wasn’t very comfortable calling it a “prequel”….and I tried really hard not to have ANY expectations.

    Plus, i love high-squick factor films, and Prometheus has some…..really icky, possibly even disturbing, images.

    ….That I adored. 😀

  3. The Recursion King Says:

    I’ve heard it said (over on Grognardia’s comments) that this film steals the plot of At the Mountains of Madness. If so, that’s deeply disappointing and makes me wonder what on earth is up with Ridley Scott. First he takes out all the gods from the Trojan War (and Homer has them literally walking around influencing everything that’s happening) and then he steals from H.P. Lovecraft? I’d have rather have seen an At the Mountains of Madness film and a prequal to Alien that goes its own way with some new ideas, but alas, that’s not what I’m hearing is going to happen.

Leave a Reply

