Dark Shadows

My mom wanted to see Dark Shadows for Mother’s Day so I took her out last Friday (avoided the Sunday crowds, too).  I think I only ever saw one or two Dark Shadow epsiodes way back when, so I don’t know all that much about it other than that it was basically a supernatural soap opera, with vampires, ghosts and werewolves.  Therefore, I can’t tell you how faithfully the movie follows the original series.

What I can tell you is that the movie fell pretty flat for me.  Not that it was a horrible movie…I’ve certainly seen, and even enjoyed, far worse movies.  However, the script needed one or two more passes, I think.  Between the 1970’s and the ‘man out of time’ theme they had a comedic gold mine to draw from, but most of the jokes either fell flat or just sort of hung there, unrealized.  Frankly, I laughed harder at every joke in The Avengers than I did at any joke in Dark Shadows.

Maybe my expectations were too high and if I’d gone into it knowing less about the movie perhaps I’d have enjoyed it more.  None-the-less, if you’re a big fan of Dark Shadows or Johnny Depp it’s probably still worth seeing the matinee.  Otherwise, save your money and watch it on Netflix in a few months.

Cheers!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

