Wrath of the Titans

Just saw Wrath of the Titans and I have to say I think it’s a pretty decent action film, appreciably better than Clash of the Titans.  I was expecting a mind-numbing FX assault on my senses, ala the first movie or Transformers 2.  And there is a lot of computer FX in the movie, but not as much as the first movie…or maybe they just used it better this time around.  One reason I think I like Wrath better than Clash, is that this one isn’t a remake of a classic.  Instead it’s treading it’s own ground, so it avoids the inevitable comparisons with the original…and the inevitable disappointments born of those comparisons.

Wrath brings out a lot of classic monsters of mythology:  manticores, cyclops and the minotaur.  Which are, of course, classic monsters of D&D as well.  As I’m watching the fight scenes, I’m thinking “why can’t my D&D fights look and ‘feel’ like these fights?  I particularly enjoyed the fight scenes with the manticore and the cyclops.  The movie really gives you a feel for just how dangerous these monsters really should be (the minotaur, unfortunately, went down like a chump, imho).

Dudes (well, mainly Perseus) are leaping onto the back of monsters, being thrown around, stuff being smashed, clever tricks, desperate strategems, fire and dust…just chaos.  OD&D’s abstract combat can allow this kind of detail if you have a really imanginative DM and players who can roll with it.  Pathfinder’s/3E’s (and, I imagine 4E’s) tactically detailed combat system allows for all this ‘motion,’ but is so sterile that it’s sort of soulless…it becomes an exercise in game mechanics, just pushing miniatures around on a map.  Maybe there’s a happy middle ground somewhere?  Food for thought, anyways.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Wrath of the Titans”

  1. Jesse Rodriguez Says:

    What exactly did you think of the Clash remake. Personally, I thought it was one of the worst movies I’ve ever seen; the only thing remotely good about it was the special effects.

    Despite this, I can’t help think that Wrath looks like a heck of a lot of fun and I’m torn on whether or not I want to see it.

    • edowar Says:

      I also thought Clash was a horrible movie. I felt they used the CGFX as a crutch to make up for terrible writing and story (as often seems to be the case these days–funny how spending millions on CG is easier than writing a decent script).

      Wrath was a lot more fun to watch than Clash and, as I said, was a pretty decent action flick. The only part where they really seem to go overboard with the CG was the big battle at the end. But the fights with the manticore, the cyclops and (to a lesser extent) the minotaur were well done, imo.

      If you’re on the fence, either go see the cheaper priced matinee (as I did) or just wait for it to show up on Netflix.

  2. Jesse Rodriguez Says:

    Thanks for the reply Ed. My wife is making fun of me for wanting to go see Wrath. I “forced” her to see the Clash remake and she still hasn’t forgiven me for it. There’s a local theatre that has $6 movies on Tuesdays, so I think I’ll be saving it for that.

Leave a Reply

