The Hunger Games

Saw The Hunger Games earlier today.  Never read the books, so I don’t know how the movie compares to them, but I did enjoy the film quite a bit.  Though it’s about 2-1/2 hours long, it moves along nicely and you don’t really notice the time passing (at least, I didn’t).  Jennifer Lawrence does an amazing job as the protagnist, Katniss Everdeen.

For anyone who’s unfamiliar with the story, it’s set in a dystopian future state where 12 outlying districts that rebelled against the central government are forced to send one male and female child (or teenager, I guess) to the annual Hunger Games as a sacrifice.  In the game, the kids kill each other off until there’s only one victor.  If you’ve ever seen the Japanese movie Battle Royale, it’s a bit like that, only with much higher production values and a sci-fi theme.

Now I need to read the books.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “The Hunger Games”

  1. T Says:

    Yes you do need to reed the book’s I have red tham and I just what’t the movie!

  2. thebabblingbane Says:

    I watched the movie, but have not read the books. My wife and daughters swear I should read the books now, but meh. The movie was not the highlight of my day, to say the least:

    The ‘jerky’ camera effect was overdone and added nothing to the movie for me. The storyline was not even plausible for me. I remarked after the movie, that if you want to project your governmental authority, so as to not have another rebellion, you probably shouldn’t take parent’s children. Not to mention, to make them fight to the death. Why wouldn’t all Districts have had a pre-teen boot camp? And even then, kids not selected would grow up to be trained adults. Not a favorable solution for said government.

    I don’t know, I guess I will chalk it up to spending time with the family. I just don’t see it becoming part of my DVD collection.

    Best,
    The Bane

Leave a Reply

