PFBB Ninja

 

So, here’s the Ninja conversion for Pathfinder Beginner Box.  I’ve introduced simple rules for using poison with weapons (didn’t see anything about this in the BB, but maybe I just missed it?) and added shuriken weapons (because they’re ninja-y).  Let me know if you have any questions or see any glaring errors I should have caught.  Cheers!

Tags: , ,

11 Responses to “PFBB Ninja”

  1. T Says:

    Samurai and more please make some more weapons and equipment and magic items and traps and more animals that you can ride like camels and maybe a small campaign setting

  2. David Jenks Says:

    Despite the huge run-on sentence, I’m going to agree with T.

    😀

  3. David Jenks Says:

    Basically, so far, you can do no wrong.

  4. T Says:

    Sorry about that I M a new dm or gm since it’s Pathfinder any advice or tips

  5. T Says:

    Or others good sites for free bonus content on the beginning

  6. edowar Says:

    The only other site with a significant amount of Beginner Box content, that I’m aware of, is the Paizo forums, here:

    http://paizo.com/beginnerbox

    If anyone knows of other sites with good BB content, I’d love to learn more about them. 🙂

    -Ed

  7. Tiorn Says:

    I mentioned it on another thread, I think a PFBB d20 srd site would be a great idea. I’m really surprised that the guys at d20pfsrd.com aren’t already doing it. I don’t know, maybe paizo wouldn’t want a PFBB site like that to exist, especially if it hosted more and more 3rd party content over time. But if they didn’t care, I really do think it would be gold! Just my opinion… take that for whatever its worth. lol

    • edowar Says:

      That’s not a bad idea, but I’m not sure what the legalities of it would be. For one, I’m not sure how much of the BB falls within the PF SRD. And Paizo’s been pretty clear that they want the BB to be a starter product that transitions new players into PF core (FWIW, I like to think that my class conversions give new players a taste of PF Core, and thus might help convert players if they want to transition to the core rules).

      Another issue is that I’m not sure I have the technical skills to run such a site myself. If someone else has the skills and wants to do it and, as you said, Paizo doesn’t care, then I think it would be a great resource.

      -Ed

      • Tiorn Says:

        I’m sure the legalities would not be a problem, as long as Paizo (and WOTC) were getting their just acknowledgements according to the license. The bigger concern, in my eyes anyhow, would be if Paizo thought that a PFBB d20 SRD site would undermine their business model. After all, they do want gamers to learn from the BB and move on to the core rules eventually. Building an BB srd site, with the potential of adding 3rd party content and even expanding the level limit, may not be something that Paizo would want to see. However, I don’t really see how they could legally stop it. I’m no lawyer though, so I don’t have a real clue on it. But it seems like it would be more a matter of ‘respect’ for Paizo’s business model than an actual legal issue.

        I view the BB as a bridge to the core rules as well, no matter how well developed the BB rules are with 3rd party supplements. In fact, I’ve been envisioning a BB campaign that morphs into a core rules campaign due to a major in-game event. Unfortunately, I’m having trouble getting enough players involved in order to get something like that going! haha

        I understand the worry over technical skills completely. Starting out, such a site could easily be made in simple HTML only. But as it grew, I’m sure the need of using databases and compatible scripting language would grow as well. Eventually, databasing would be absolutely necessary… and I would have to say that its my weakest link in any web sites that I’ve dealt with in the past.

Leave a Reply

