Beginner Box Megadungeon

I’m toying with the idea of doing an ‘old school’ style megadungeon using Pathfinder’s Beginner Box.  Not exactly sure what it’ll look like yet, but it will be done in installments, one section (or ‘sub-level’ if you will) at a time.

One thing I’m considering is whether to start a separate, dedicated blog for the megadungeon project.  Since about 90% of the OSR blogosphere uses Blogger, I’ve been wanting to play around with that, and this project gives me a good excuse to do so.  Or I could just do it as a regular feature on this blog, so I don’t divide my focus between two blogs.  Not sure how to proceed on that yet.

One thing I do know is, it probably won’t be considered a ‘fair’ dungeon by Pathfinder standards.  I almost certainly won’t be using balanced Challenge Rating encounters, and there will definitely be ‘save-or-die’ type traps that will require clever thinking and a cautious approach to navigate.  Players wont be able to charge into every fight; they’ll have to exercise sound judgement and sometimes use diplomacy.  And I realize many Pathfinder players would probably cry foul over that.

Anyways, more thoughts on this later.  The Ninja class conversion is pretty much done, but I want to give it one more look over in the morning with fresh eyes.  Until then…

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Beginner Box Megadungeon”

  1. David Jenks Says:

    For the love of Boccob, Tharzidun and Wee Jas, YES PLEASE on the megadungeon!!!

  2. J. Rod Says:

    Yes. Yes yes yes yes yes yes.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    +1

  4. edowar Says:

    Wow, I’m pleasantly surprised at the response. Now the preasure is on, lol. 🙂

    -Ed

  5. David Jenks Says:

    Yes–if I can pressure you to have it written in the next month or two, I can use it as a starter adventure for my cousin (who hasn’t ever played D&D before).

    😀

  6. Nick "Volrath" Says:

    I am a huge fan of old school rpgs. At the same time 3.5 is not of my taste (although PBB is a great product as I always liked the low level campaigns…. actually it’s the perfect box set for me).
    So… GO AND DO THAT DUNGEON!!!
    And of course you have the support of all rpg bloggers 🙂

Leave a Reply

