PFBB Beastiary: Black Pudding, Gelatinous Cube, Slime Mold

 

A new crop of monsters for your Pathfinder Beginner Box game, done up in 3×5 index card format as before.  Of these, the Black Pudding is the big baddy (CR 7, acid eats your weapons and armor!), even after I toned it down by omitting a couple of its abilities.  I particularly like these types of monsters, as disolving your adventurers in slimy, acidic goo is so much more horrific than a mundane beat-down.  Enjoy!

PFBB Beastiary: Black Pudding, Gelatinous Cube, Slime Mold (corrected 3/20/2012 to replace Blindsight with Scent)

Tags: , , , , ,

11 Responses to “PFBB Beastiary: Black Pudding, Gelatinous Cube, Slime Mold”

  1. David Jenks Says:

    Looooooove the g-cubes–have ever since ’81 when I first learned of them at a tender 11 years old. 😉

  2. edowar Says:

    Heh, me too. I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for slimes, molds and other forms of acidic goo. 🙂

    -Ed

  3. David Jenks Says:

    By the way, Blindsight doesn’t exist in the BB…it was replaced by Scent.

    (Confirmed this with Gray Ooze, which has 60′ scent instead of 60′ blindsight.)

    While I may not 100% agree with this change, so it goes.

    • edowar Says:

      You’re definitely right! I could have sworn I saw Blindsight on one of the BB monsters, but I’m obviously wrong. I’ll correct these monsters to match the BB today. Thanks for catching that!

      -Ed

  4. David Jenks Says:

    I created my own Monster Card sheet with the giant fly, giant maggot and giant amoeba.

    Aside from a minor quirk in formatting (presumably because I’m using LibreOffice instead of MS’ Office) and adding a special ability to the amoeba (“semi-transparent’ which is the same as transparent but with a DC 11 Perception check rather than a DC 15–why? because it seemed to be fun!) it was easier than I expected to stat out a BB monster.

    If you’d like a copy of my sheet to add to your online collection (and hopefully adjust the weird formatting issue), email me:

    wraith[underscore]form[at]hotmail[dot]com.

    Or, if you send me a message letting me know who you are, you can ‘friend’ me on Facebook and I can send attachments that way. (I plan to do more monsters, so that might help you with your Megadungeon.)

    • edowar Says:

      Do you have a website or blog of your own. If you post it there I’d be happy to link to it here.

      If not, let me know and I’ll send you an e-mail. I’d be happy to add it to my collection here (with due credit, naturally 😉 ).

      -Ed

    • Tiorn Says:

      I use OpenOffice. Can you output that to PDF?

  5. David Jenks Says:

    1) I have no web site or blog, sorry. My thoughts aren’t fit for the public blogosphere anyway: my mind might induce madness and weeping for most sane individuals.

    2) Pretty sure OpenOffice is the old name for what is now LibreOffice. For some reason LibreOffice really royally hosed the saved version of my monster cards (it wants to display it in Portrait instead of Landscape and will NOT revert back to Landscape, thus making all the boxes formatted very oddly).

    3.) I’m almost 100% positive I saw that you can choose to “print to” a PDF rather than an RTF in LibreOffice. However, since my Portrait/Landscape mishaps, I’ve uninstalled that Office app and instead installed MS Office 2010. I haven’t had a chance to see if the formatting issues continue.

    So, tl;dr: Yeah, shoot me your email and I’ll shoot you some critters. 😉

    • edowar Says:

      E-mail sent. Let me know if you don’t receive it.

      -Ed

    • Tiorn Says:

      When Oracle took over OpenOffice, a lot of the OO develops left and started LibreOffice. Oracle turned the OO code over to Apache… and they are continuing work on it. So, both are still in development, but OO had a bit of a hiccup period there, while Libre was in full development.

      The OO writer has a button to convert a document to PDF. I find that pretty handy, especially for sharing documents with friends who use MicroSoft products instead and can’t read ODT files.

      I’ve had to adjust the monster RTFs that EdOWar has done in OO as well. For whatever reason, OO doesn’t like the margin settings in the RTFs, so I end up seeing a 1.75 inch top margin and a lot of the creature information carrying over to a second page. Once I toyed with it and figured how to adjust that, everything pretty well lined up as desired (still had to make some other tweaks here and there though).

      I’ll send an email as well, if you don’t mind. I definitely want to add to the collection. lol

      • edowar Says:

        Certainly, feel free to submit any monster conversions you like and I’ll post them here, with credit. Many thanks.

        -Ed

Leave a Reply

