PFBB Cavalier

 

Here’s the promised Cavalier conversion for the Pathfinder Beginner Box.  I have to say this was probably the easiest conversion I’ve done, and I think it shows in the Cavalier’s relative power.  Or should I say, relative lack of power.  Of course, I haven’t had a chance to run it in a game yet, but just reading it it seems to me the Cavalier has less going for it than most of the other classes.  I tried to spruce it up a bit here and there, such as removing the AC penalty for challenges, but it still seems a bit ‘meh’ to me.  If you find this is indeed the case in your game, consider allowing Cavaliers to add their CHA bonus (if they have one) to damage rolls when issuing challenges.

Also, I chose three Orders to include in this conversion, mainly for their ease of conversion and rules ‘lightness.’  One of these, the Order of the Shield, I feel stands out clearly as ‘the best.’  I could tinker with the other orders a bit to bring them up to par, but that would mean adding new abilities wholesale.  Considering these are supposed to be conversions, I want to avoid that.  And so, while the Shield has some fairly onerous edicts, I recommend being a little more strict interpreting those edicts than you might otherwise be for the other orders.

So, all that said, hope you enjoy the new conversion.  Game on!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

